Flinster42: The Cars of Springfield (Part One)

Hello Everyone, This is another guest post from Flinster42. It seems that a lot of you took an interest in his last post and I’m happy to announce that he will be doing three more posts on the possible cars in Springfield. Hope you enjoy this wonderful post and now I’m going to hand it over to Flinster42:

Hey guys, Flinster42 here again with another guest post! Before I jump into it I would just like to take the time to thank all of the writers of this website, they have done a magnificent job to pick up the pieces and soldier on after what I like to call “The incident”. I would like to especially thank Mickus and nathanrushton as they have given me heaps of support and encouragement, it means a lot.

On to the post! As I mentioned in my last post (Which can be found here). I will be doing a three-part post on Cars! I will be covering what the future of The Simpsons Tapped Out could have in store for cars. This will be a three-part post, this first one involving what cars could be added in the future, the second explaining what could be done with the cars (adding onto streets etc.) and the third with how the current ones could be utilized more effectively. If any of you guys comment with other suggestions on the car posts I could make a fourth as well which would include your views.

In this game we have seen quite a few cars added and recently added was the first non-premium car “Chalmer’s 1979 _onda”.

Other cars that have been included in the game are:

  •  Frinksonic MHV which was limited time decoration with the season 24 yard sale event.
  • The “piece of crap car” that Nelson interacts with on his 30 minuet task.
  • The Police Car.
  • The Duff Party Bus. Another limited time decoration with the season 24 yard sale event.
  • The Duff Racer. A Limited time item that was unlocked during the season 24 episode tie-in episode.
  • Others include The Channel 6 News Van, The Ambulance, Burns limo and the S.W.A.T Van.

The ones that I’m not completely sure you could put in this category are the school bus, Krustyland shuttle and that left hand roadster,  the S.W.A.T. van could also be questionable as it brought characters, but I decided to include it.

Anyways this post is about what cars could be added in the future. This is such a broad category, anything could be added! This time next year we could have the characters’ cars on the streets, we already have the Burns limo, but for now I will stay away from character cars and look for other ones that could be added. So, I have come up with 12 vehicles that could be added to the game, they will be explained in the next few paragraphs:

To come up with some new vehicles I thought of some of the ones that we already have in the game, I thought of the police car and the ambulances and the first thing that came to mind was fire trucks, this could be added in an update that comes with Springfield Fire station (and perhaps fireman costumes for Homer, Moe, Apu and Skinner). Keeping with vehicles with a purpose I thought of a taxi, and a stretched limo, these could be nice additions to the game, helping the people get in a taxi when they are to lazy to walk (the taxi could also have some incorporation with the TV show “taxicab conversations” [an episode where homer bags out his family on TV and they treat him to rock & roll camp] (this update could also come with the camp) and the stretched limo would certainly jazz up any Springfield.

I realize I said I wouldn’t go into characters’ cars but this one is to good to leave out, in the past I have whined that there is not enough things in my schoolyard and this next vehicle is here to fix that, “Willy’s tractor”. The tractor is in quite a few episodes and gives Willy another thing to interact with, I think it would be a good addition. I also thought of a semi-trailer/camper trailer although I can’t think of anyone who lives in one off the top of my head.

The next six all require explanations or the telling of its origin, these include “The Homer”, “Truckasaurus”, Homer’s Ambulance, Homer’s Ice Cream Van, Really tall man’s car and last but not least the Canyonero.

The Homer was a car that Homer designed when Herb, his half-brother gave him a job, Herb was intrigued with Homers way of going about cars and decided to give him a shot. The car did horribly, no one liked it and Herb went out of business, what a happy ending! However The Homer could make a triumphant return to the game TSTO! Bringing it to the glory that Homer always wanted. Perhaps Herb could even be included….

The Truckasaurus, a 20 ton and four car high mega monster, it’s a truck/dinosaur type vehicle weird thing. I don’t know exactly how to explain it and I am not sure how it could be put in the game but I’m sure EA could find a way, even if it just does minimal moving (sort of like the popsicle tower).

Homer’s ambulance (pictured above). So Homer buys an ambulance, weird huh? He then becomes an ambulance driver and maybe saves a few lives, come on Homer… He then becomes overtired and stressed, however the ambulance is still pretty cool!

Homers ice cream van. Homer’s favorite ice cream man passes away, Homer is distraught and decided to take over the business, kids love him and he loves it! It’s a win-win and it could be for TSTO as well! This vehicle could come with some awesome tasks for a lot of the kids (and of course homer).

The really tall man’s car: Nelson, being the bully he is makes fun of the really tall man and the fact that he can hardly fit in the car, however the tall man makes fun of Nelson. One of the few times we see Nelson scared. This car could come with the really tall (unnamed man) and could include some hilarious tasks for Nelson!

Canyonero, whenever I hear that word I think of this song:

http://youtu.be/oG5FKsH3-F4

Basically in this episode, Krusty tries to go straight, he actually finds his stride as a comedian, but in the end sells out and endorses the Canyonero, finding us once again, back to where we are (something I love about TV shows). I love this car, but mainly because of its song! Could involve some tasks with Krusty.

Well this has been my second guest post and the first installment of my three-part car posts, cant wait to hear your feedback or maybe you can think of a car I missed out? Maybe you disagree and one of these shouldn’t be added or maybe you have a car related question that I could do a post about. I am very excited for the second installment of the three-part car posts and hopefully it will be out soon.

-Flinster42 Out

45 thoughts on “Flinster42: The Cars of Springfield (Part One)

  1. Heres a list of the cars from “the simpsons hit and run” video game on gamecube. Lots of great ideas. Most are character cars, which i know you said you didnt want to do, but theres some other good ones. My personal fave is the malibu stacy car.

    http://simpsons.wikia.com/wiki/List_of_Vehicles_in_Simpsons_Hit_%26_Run

    Like

    1. Clown car is a good one! And how good was that game! I loved it,

      Like

      1. Hi flinster what time is it over there so I can work out the best time to post your article.

        Like

        1. 11pm, post whenever, now is fine even. If you want me on alert for comments than in 9 hours or now

          Like

          1. How about between 6-7am where you are. Thats about the time I posted yesterday?

            Like

            1. That sounds great, perfect timing.

              Like

      2. love it! Still play it 🙂

        Like

        1. I lost mine 😦 can’t find it anywhere. Memories are great though!

          Like

      3. I was thinking of hipster and comes with homer’s mom

        Like

  2. I was thinking Lurleen could come with a trailer/campervan 🙂 the music manager costume for Homer could also come with it/separate.

    Like

    1. That is absolutely Brilliant! You are a genius
      I will be sure to mention this (and credit you) in one of my upcoming guest posts). Thank you so much!

      Like

      1. You made me blush! Always happy to help 🙂

        Like

  3. You missed the limo that came with respectable moe update

    Like

    1. Ah, thanks Tkclown00, I was around for that episode tie in and i got Respectable Moe however i don’t remember seeing the Limo, I always assumed the task was with Burns Limo. Everything makes sense now, thanks for that.

      Like

  4. What episode was homers ice cream van from?

    Like

    1. Episode 385. Titled “Ice Cream of Margie (with the light blue hair)” its the 7th episode in season 18 and it first aired on November 26th 2006.

      Like

      1. Thanks Mickus, good episode, you should check it out phru862

        Like

  5. How about Barney’s Plow King Would b great with Homer’s Mr. Plow

    Like

    1. Hi shawn, I did leave the plow king out of the three part posts, but I have written a speculation post to be posted after the cars series and have included the plow king there. Sorry about that

      Like

  6. Does this post remind anybody else of the mid-2000’s console game “The Simpsons Road Rage”? To ALMOST quote Comic Book Guy…

    Best. Game. Ever.

    Like

    1. I was into The Simpsons Hit & Run, don’t remember Road Rage but Hit & Run was one of the funnest games ever!

      Like

  7. Why not start with the wagon and sedan the Simpsons own. As for an rv, the Simpsons bought one in season 1 I believe it was to enjoy the outdoors, where it fell over a cliff. I’d like the canyonaero (hiyah) as well, maybe even the F-series that homer bought and later gave to marge.

    Like

    1. All good suggestions, I did say I wasn’t going to go into characters cars as they are a given. Thanks for that about the rv!

      Like

      1. No problem. A great scene in that episode is where homer tries to catch a rabbit but it gets flung across the land from the trap he laid out.

        Like

        1. Oh I do remember that one now! Good one Scott

          Like

  8. King of Kings 08/30/2013 — 23:43

    http://db.tt/B96Jab7a
    What u guys think of my high school/elementary school? Had to move a lot of things around with this updat!!

    Like

    1. Amazing I will add mine soon 🙂

      Like

      1. Nice! I am not sure how to upload photos in comments but mine is rather simple anyway.

        Like

  9. A Limo was already released as a limited time item for the episode when Moe got his new suit. I’ve always thought when Selma and Patty come with the DMV it would be a great time to release more vehicles into the game, perhaps some that drive on road since Springfield will finally be able to renew their drivers licenses 🙂 After a “wait in the line at DMV” for a 24 hour task of course.

    Like

    1. Yeah, I have mentioned this possibility in part 2 and 3, I wrote them last week and they should be up this weekend

      Like

      1. Part two will be up tomorrow and part 3 maybe tomorrow or Sunday. Keep up the great work flinster you and jacques are the best guest post writers I have ever came across :).

        Like

        1. Wow, best compliment ever. Thanks Nathan

          Like

  10. Good post. Digging through the series for inspiration. Can you imagine the chaps at EA having massive folders each themed for cars, houses etc

    Like

    1. Thank you, let me know what you find.

      Like

  11. Southernhammer 08/30/2013 — 20:54

    They should be useable for quests really. Not sure how they’d do it. If it’s used like a costume then they’d struggle to come up with enough tasks (unless they’re integrated with current tasks such as Homer’s sedan with Homer going to the Nuclear Plant for a 16 hour task). They could possibly do it like Channel 6 or Open Air Stage and let you open a menu and select the task. This would allow multiple people to participate in a single task and also generally allow more than 1 person to access it. I’m sure they will get round to this somewhen and I really hope they do. Would add something great to the game as costumes will get old eventually

    Like

    1. Covered in part 2 and 3, keep an eye out!

      Like

  12. Great love cars and transport maybe Homers Family
    Sedan and Mr Plow snowtruck.

    Like

  13. The 2 cars I feel should be added are probably the most recognizable in the series. Homers’ pink sedan and Marges’ red station wagon. What would be cooler than seeing Homers’ old beater sitting in the power plant parking lot complete with dented fender and bent antenna. Oh, and the Canyonero is long overdue IMO.

    Like

    1. Great idea about Willies tractor. I had never thought of that. That could add some very cool tasks.

      Like

      1. Thanks man 🙂

        Like

  14. I would like to see Apu’s firebird, just because it would look really awesome.

    Like

    1. Great idea. The episode where Homer cuts the roof off the Firebird so he can spy on Apu and Manjula is hilarious.

      Like

  15. I suggested adding The Homer back on “the site that shall not be named” some time ago. I think it would make a good premium item. FYI, someone has actually gone and built The Homer in real life:

    http://www.autoblog.com/2013/06/27/the-homer-to-contest-24-hours-of-lemons/

    Like

      1. Whilst researching I did see that, pretty cool huh?

        Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.